PRESERVED BUSES & COACHES
|FLEET No||RM 2217|
|MAKE||AEC Regent V|
The London Routemaster is the iconic London double decker bus.
The prototype was built in 1954, and full production began in 1958,
continuing until 1968. It was designed to replace the previous
RT series buses, and the London trollybuses. The chassis and
engine were by AEC for most Routemasters, but some were manufactured by
Leyland. The Leyland versions however, had no visible external
differences from the AECs. The Routemaster was the last bus
designed by London Transport. When Routemaster replacements were
introduced in the 1970s, standard production models were purchased from
The Routemaster, with half cab and rear platform entrance, was designed for two-person operation, and was under threat from the 1970s when front-entranced, one-man-operation buses were introduced to central London. Nevertheless, Routemasters saw continuous service in London until 2005, and they remain on two heritage routes (9 and 15) in central London. It is estimated that there are some 1,000 Routemasters of the 2,876 built still in existence.
RM 2217 was new at Willesden garage in 1965. In 1984 she became a show bus for London Transport, and was fitted with an Iveco engine in 1991. In 1994 she received a branded livery for route 159 out of Brixton. In 1995, when London buses were privatised, she went to Arriva, where she continued working. The vehicle was fitted with a Cummins engine in 2001, was refurbished at Enfield, and returned to Brixton garage. In 2004 she was on the last day of route 137, and the last crew day of route 73. The same year she was given a Harry Potter livery and sent round the UK on a promotion tour. She remains with Arriva for special events.
|Above photo taken at:||Cobham London Bus Museum Spring Gathering at Dunsfold Aerodrome, Surrey.|
|Taken on:||10th April 2011|
Return to Bus & Coach List
Photographs © Mike Smith 2011
None to be reproduced elsewhere without permission